Ntronium Forums
May 27, 2017, 04:48:48 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New race: ships and tech?  (Read 7563 times)
The Pixie
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


Email
« on: July 22, 2011, 11:23:01 AM »

I have created a couple of new races, and Armada loads up fine, offering them as options in a custom game. When I play, however, I cannot build corvettes (I do have the starting corvettes), and most of the ships cannot be researched (NDomitable, Dreadnaught and Fleet Escort can be). To create the races I copied the XML for humans, and there is nothing in there about technology or ships, so I was hoping it would just do the same as for humans.

Plan B... So then I copied the Technology and ShipTypes for humans, and changed the race names. Loads up okay, but still no ships to build.

What am I missing here? Any help gratefully received.
Logged
Neutron
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1657



Email
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2011, 12:45:21 PM »

Quote
Plan B... So then I copied the Technology and ShipTypes for humans, and changed the race names. Loads up okay, but still no ships to build.

Not quite sure what you mean by this.

What you need to do is edit the requirements section of the ships you want to build or the techs you want to be available
What you have currently will be something like this

<Requirements>
<Race Name = "Human"/>
</Requirements>

Change it to something like this
<Requirements>
  <RequireEither>
    <Race Name = "Human"/>
    <Race Name = "My New Race"/>
  </RequireEither>
<Requirements>

Sorry I'm at home so I may have some of the element names wrong, but f you check the xmls files you'll find the correct names

Logged
The Pixie
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


Email
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2011, 01:29:21 PM »

What I had done was to copy the XML for humans from the Technology and ShipTypes files, and past them into a new file, then whereever it said humans, put in my own race. However, I am now thinking that that will overwrite the existing entries, so only the last one actually applies.

So what I have now done is to have one entry, but use the <RequireEither> tags and list my races plus the humans. But it is still not working. What I am wondering is where you state the starting technology for a race. How does the game now humans start with Corvette, but Jellutions start with J Corvette?
Logged
The Pixie
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


Email
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2011, 11:31:36 AM »

Well I have kind of got around this be giving each race its own ships and tech, again bassically copying those for humans, and changing the race names. However, the game is crashing when I open the tech. panel. Specifically, it says "Value cannot be null" about path2. This looks like it is part of the path to an icon from the stack trace; it looks like there should be something set in the XML, rather than an image file missing. However, I see nothing in the tech. for ships that specifies a path (though other techs do).
Logged
Neutron
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1657



Email
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2011, 08:32:37 AM »

The icons for ships are in the shiptypes.xml file

Generally any race can build anything, or research anything, unless there is a restriction in place preventing them
Logged
Mihal
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2013, 06:18:14 PM »

Hey Guys

Quick question, will you (Ntronium) ever publish other samples besides your battlecruiser 3 - that has not made it to this game - to be used in game Smiley  PWETTY PLEASE WITH FLUFFY POWDERED SUGAR ON TOP!!!  It would be nice for us non designers to have a few samples we can play with to create our own factions/races w Smiley
Logged
Neutron
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1657



Email
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2013, 01:13:30 AM »

Sorry, we run a tight ship, so we didn't make lots of stuff that we didn't put in the game. The tricky bit with the ships is the texturing which the example demonstrates. Apart from that it should be fairly easy to add models from around the internet. They just need converting to .X files
Logged
Mihal
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2013, 09:19:48 AM »

Awesome Smiley I will look into that Cheesy
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!